09 - 08 - 2020

In a first, Trinamool Congress fields 40.5% women candidates

KOLKATA,March 13,2019: In a first, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) has fielded 40.5 per cent women candidates in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, up from 35 per cent last time. 

West Bengal Chief Minister and party supremo Mamata Banerjee announced the names of the 42 candidates on Tuesday, out of which 17 are women. 

“I want to thank Ma Mati Manush. Greetings to all. Today we announced our list of 2019 Lok Sabha candidates for Bengal & some other States.I am all the more happy & proud because 41% of our candidates (17/42 seats) are women. Trinamool’s list speaks for itself #UnityInDiversity,” tweeted the party chief.

“This is a proud moment for us," Banerjee said while briefing the media. “I would be more happy if I could have given 50 percent to women.”

These candidates and the constituencies from which they'll contest are:

1. Satabdi Roy: Birbhum
2. Dr Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar: Barasat
3. Sreemati Dev Varma (Moon Moon Sen): Asansol
4. Arpita Ghosh: Balurghat
5. Mausam Noor: Maldaha North
6. Rupali Biswas: Ranaghat
7. Mohua Moitra: Krishnanagar
8. Mamata Thakur: Bangaon
9. Sajda Ahmed: Uluberia
10. Nusrat Jahan: Basirhat
11. Pratima Mondal: Jaynagar
12. Mimi Chakraborty: Jadavpur
13. Mala Roy: Kolkata South
14. Dr Ratna De Nag: Hooghly
15. Aparupa Poddar: Arambag
16. Beerbaha Soren: Jhargram
17. Mamtaz Sanghamita: Bardhaman-Durgapur