17 - 01 - 2019

Youth rapes 100-year-old woman, arrested

Kolkata,Oct 25,2018: A 100-year-old woman was raped by a 20-year-old man in West Bengal’s Nadia district on Monday night. The accused has been arrested on Tuesday night by Chakdah police and was produced in a local court on Wednesday morning.

The 100-year-old lady lived alone in her village home in Gangaprasadpur under Chanduria Gram Panchayat area in Nadia district. Though she has two sons, they work outside Nadia district. The elderly woman’s relatives stayed in the neighbourhood and took care of her. She can walk and do her basic minimum work

On Monday midnight, her great grand daughter-in-law was suddenly awakened by a moaning sound and to her utter astonishment the sound could be traced from her great grandmother’s room.

Police said the elderly woman was sleeping when the accused entered her room and had suddenly raped and tortured her.

“I found Abhijit, a neighbourhood boy, raping and torturing her while great grandmother was crying in pain. The light was switched on. I immediately alerted everyone in the neighbourhood. When all other neighbours and relatives rushed to the room, Abhijit hid under her bed. We rushed her to the hospital while Abhijit was allowed to go,” the elderly woman’s great grand daughter-in-law said.

The relative also said that she had caught Abhijit red-handed as the light of the room was switched on. “Everyone was shocked at the incident but taking the old lady to the hospital was our first priority,” she said.`

The old woman, who was traumatised, was rushed to the Chakdah state general hospital, a government-run hospital. From there, she was referred to Kalyani Gandhi Memorial Hospital. She is undergoing treatment there.

Meanwhile, on Tuesday morning, the family members filed an FIR against the accused Abhijit Biswas (20) in Chakdah Police Station.

Police said Abhijit was arrested on Tuesday night on the basis of the FIR. He has been produced in a local court today.

Police has started investigation into the matter.

Bus Accident At Berhampore, 15 Injured

Kolkata, Oct 23,2018: At least 15 passengers were left injured after two speeding buses got involved in a major accident at Berhampore-Jalangi road and state highway. Transport services were disrupted completely as a result of the accident on Tuesday morning. The injured have been rushed to a local hospital.

As per sources, two buses were inbound to Berhampore from Domkal. They started speeding and competing against each other. Meanwhile, one of the buses tried overtaking the other, when one of it rammed into a tree near the road. After ramming, it then lost control and overturned on the road. The passengers trapped inside started crying for help. Hearing the cries, the locals rushed to the rescue. They rescued the injured and rushed them to the Murshidabad Medical College and Hospital. The police also rushed to the area.

There was a temporary disruption of traffic in the Berhampore-Jalangi road and state highway as a result of the accident. The passengers have accused the driver’s negligence behind the accident. The driver and the helper are absconding, and the police are on the look-out for them.

Fire breaks out at firecracker factory in South 24 Parganas

Kokata,Oct 8,2018:A fire broke out in West Bengal's South 24 Parganas district at a firecracker factory. Around six persons were injured due to the fire, news agency ANI reported.At least three explosions were heard during the incident and three fire tenders were pressed into service to douse the flames. The injured were taken to a hospital and the police detained one employee.The owner of the factory has been detained, PTI reported. The incident occurred at Sonarpur's Gobindopur area at around 12.40 pm."This was a small factory with only a tin shed and small walls on four sides. There were some finished and unfinished firecrackers at the factory. So far, six persons were injured in the mishap. They have been sent to a nearby hospital," a fire department official said.The cause of the fire is yet to be ascertained, a police officer said adding that there was a couple of blasts from the factory which damaged a few nearby houses."We have detained the owner of the factory for questioning and trying to find out what was the cause of the fire," the officer said adding that the fire was brought under control.

(With Agency Inputs)

Woman Shot Dead In Bengal, Family Blames Trinamool's Faction Feud

kALYANI:A woman was shot dead at her home in Nadia district on Thursday by gunmen while resisting them to enter her house allegedly in search of her husband who is a Trinamool Congress (TMC) member, police said.

The family members alleged that the incident was the result of a factional feud of the TMC, Nadia Superintendent of Police Rupesh Kumar said a dispute over irrigating land was behind the killing.

Four to five men went to the home of Tahajul Seikh in Hatishala village under Chapra police station area around 2.30 pm and tried to enter the house by force.

The SP said Mr Seikh's wife, 26-year-old Marjina Bibi, tried to stop them and they gunned her down. Mr Seikh, in the meantime, fled through the back door, the SP said.

After failing to find him, the gunmen returned.

"An altercation had taken place yesterday over irrigating lands in the area and the murder is a result of that," Kumar said.

There has been no written complaint received by the police and there is no arrest, he said.

Chapra MLA Rookbanoor Rahaman said, "Tahajul was our worker. Some miscreants tried to kill him but his wife died. Politics was not the reason for the murder."

The victim's family, however, alleged that Marjina Bibi was killed because of the feud of two groups of the TMC.

 They also claimed that gunmen looted Rs. 1. 5 lakh cash and and some gold ornaments from the house after firing Marjina Bibi.

Two Youth Drowns In Ganga At Kashipur

Kolkata, Oct 5,2018: Two teenagers drowned in Ganga near Kashipur Ghat on Thursday afternoon . Two deceased are Aryan Kar and Rahul Mandal. Two students studied in class ten.Aryan kar was the resident of Chiriamore area. On the other hand, Rahul’s house in Dumdum Cantonment area. They fell into the Ganges after taking photographs. Until 10pm of the day they did not recover.Recently Youtube has become popular and good platform for youth to show their talents. This You-tube is very easily accessible to many people and to make money easily.According to the police sources, a group of 10 teenagers went to Dudhnath Ghat near Kashipur to shoot the a video. At that time the accident occurred. Aryan and Rahul drowned due to carelessness.


One Dead, 10 Injured In Bengal As Clashes Erupt Over Teacher Appointments

KOLKATA, Sept 21,2018:A man was shot dead after clashes erupted between students and police over the appointment of teachers at a school in West Bengal's Islampur on Thursday. At least 10 people, including police personnel, were also injured in the incident.

The Islampur state-run hospital said 27-year-old Rajesh Sarkar, a former student, was fatally injured in the back by a bullet. Doctors declared him dead on arrival. As the North Dinajpur police have unofficially denied opening fire, the identity of the shooter is still unknown.

According to the students, they had been agitating for the last three days at the Darinbhit high school against authorities appointing three new teachers for some languages while allegedly ignoring other subjects like history, geography and math. A police team was escorting the new teachers to the school today when students blocked the road and clashes erupted.

The BJP has called for a bandh in the area tomorrow.