First session of 17th Parl session begins

Published on Tuesday, 18 June 2019 17:00
Written by Our Correspondant

 New Delhi, June 17, 2019  (Agencies):The maiden session of the 17th Lok Sabha commenced Monday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and Congress president Rahul Gandhi among the 320 of the 542 MPs taking oath during the first day of the two-day long swearing-in ceremony marked by some controversy, slip-ups and slogan shouting.

Linguistic diversity was in full play with the oath being taken in different languages as several newly-elected members sported colourful attire, traditional shawls and headgears while a section wore a saffron look. As the Leader of the House, Modi was the first to take oath as member of the lower house, nearly four weeks after leading BJP to a resounding victory in the Lok Sabha polls. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister and BJP president Amit Shah, Transport and Highways minister Nitin Gadkari were among the prominent members who took oath.

The oath was administered by seven-term BJP MP Virendra Kumar shortly after he was sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Kumar will also oversee the election of the Lok Sabha speaker on Wednesday.

When Modi’s name was called out by the Secretary General for taking oath, members from the ruling NDA thumped the desk greeting the prime minister with slogans such as “Modi-Modi” and “Bharat Mata ki Jai”.

Amid thumping of desks by Congress members, Rahul Gandhi took oath in English. He won the election from Wayanad in Kerala.  Besides the union ministers who were elected to Lok Sabha, members from 23 states and union territories took oath. In all, 320 MPs took oath, according to a Lok Sabha bulletin. The remaining 222 members will take oath on Tuesday.