21 - 08 - 2019

CPM, Congress to move Supreme Court over re poll in West Tripura

Agartala, May 8,2019: Opposition CPM and Congress decided to move Supreme Court over re – poll in West Tripura Lok Sabha seat. Both parties decided to challenge the  election commission's decision to hold re poll in 168 of the 1679 polling stations spread over the West Tripura Lok Sabha constituency.

The sitting CPI (M) MP (East Tripura) Jiten Chowdhury has asserted that the party will move the supreme court against the election commission’s decision to order repoll in only 168 polling stations as against their demand for a repoll in the entire constituency on the basis of unimpeachable proof.

'We had solid reasons to demand repoll in the entire constituency but the election commission's order has disappointed us ; so we are going to the supreme court by tomorrow at the latest' said Jiten.


Similarly, the senior Congress leader and PCC spokesperson Tapas De also expressed his disappointment over the ECI's decision to order repoll in 168 polling stations only and said that the PCC  after emergency meeting this evening and it was  decided  to appeal the ECI’s notification in the supreme court.

'We had demanded repoll in the entire constituency with cogent reasons and on the basis of records of the election department , reports of presiding officers and online evidences like webcasting but our demand has not been upheld , so in the PCC meeting we decided to file an appeal in the supreme court' said Tapas De.

Its mentionable here that the election commission on Wednesday ordered fresh poll in 168 polling  booths  of West Tripura parliamentary constituency which is  the highest for any Lok Sabha constituency in the ongoing elections in the entire country. 

The repolling is scheduled for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 12, from 7 am to 5 pm, as per the ECI new direction to the state election commission. The west Tripura parliamentary constituency has 1,679 polling booths all total.