21 - 08 - 2019

Twelve candidates applied for the post of Chief Information Commissioner

Agartala, May 14,2019: All together twelve candidates have applied for the post of  the State Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) in response of the notification issued by by the department of  General Administration ( AR) on April 6th. The most prominent candidates are former chief secretary G K Rao,    Dr. A. K. Gupta, former PCCF,  M. L Dey retired IAS officer.

The General Administration also constituted a three member committee with Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb as chairman of the committee. Other members of the committee are Education Minister, Ratan Lal Nath and Manik Sarkar, Opposition Leader. Secretary of the committee is Chief Secretary L. K.  Gupta.

The Governor will  appoint the Information  Commissioner on the recommendation of the  three member  committee. The new CIC likely to be appointed in June next.The  commissioner will hold office for a term of 5 years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. They are not eligible for reappointment.       

.Meanwhile the incumbent Chief Information Commissioner K. V. Satyanaryan termed ended on April 28th . Former Addl. CS Satyanarayan was appointed as state CIC on September 2, 2014.